MVLS Elects New Members and Executive Leadership to Board of Directors

Maryland Volunteer Lawyers Service (MVLS) announced the election of four new members to our Board of Directors including Allison Baker Shealy, Dennis J. Shaffer, Richard Costella, and Matthew M. Bryant. MVLS’s Board of Directors is responsible for governance and directing the organization’s strategic plan to deliver life changing pro bono legal services to Marylanders with limited income.

Allison Baker Shealy is an attorney at Shulman Rogers and handles cases in securities enforcement, government investigations, financial regulatory and compliance practice, securities, business and financial services, and criminal defense.

Dennis J. Shaffer is a partner at Whiteford Taylor Preston in the firm’s Business Reorganization & Bankruptcy Section, with significant experience representing clients in distressed debt and restructuring situations, including related litigation.

Richard Costella is a partner at Tydings Law and in the firm’s bankruptcy/creditors’ rights group. His practice focuses primarily on bankruptcy and creditors’ rights, banking and finance, and commercial litigation matters. He additionally represents a wide variety of lenders and financial institutions in virtually all aspects of consumer and commercial bankruptcy cases.

Matthew M. Bryant is a senior counsel at Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, PA in the firm’s Civil Litigation practice group. He is an experienced trial and appellate attorney representing businesses and individuals in state and federal court. Matthew represents clients in litigation in appellate representation, employment law, estates and trusts, personal injury matters, and professional licensing.

MVLS has also appointed new board members to our Executive Committee. Anthony Ashton of Baxter|Baker is MVLS’ President, Michael Clevenger of Truist Bank is Vice President, Alexandria Montanio of Gordon Feinblatt LLC is Treasurer, and David Sommer of Gallagher, Evelius & Jones, LLP is Secretary.

Please visit our website to see a full list of our Board of Directors.