Award Winners

MVLS would not be able to change the lives of thousands of Marylanders each year without our committed volunteer attorneys, and we think it’s important to recognize these efforts. Below are exceptional attorneys that have been recognized over the years for truly embracing pro bono and providing access to justice for many of our clients.

In addition to the award winners listed below, we’re grateful for the generous volunteers who take not one, not two, not three, but ten or more pro bono cases year!  The names of these special volunteers in FY17 can be found here.

20 Year Volunteer Award Winners
2017: Erika Slater
2016: Constance Hare
2016: Darren Margolis
2015: Robert W. Taylor

10 Year Volunteer Award Winners
2017: Christina Alfonsi
2017: Gary Brooks
2017: Natalie Collins
2017: James Olson
2017: Steven Wilder

2016: Gerardine M. Delambo
2016: Stephen M. Hearne
2016: Bradley J. Swallow
2016: Laurie M. Wasserman
2015: Anthony Butler
2015: Linda Carroll
2015: Steven Cox
2015: June Dillard
2015: Laurie Hansen
Alan Van Luven
Kyriakos Marudas
2014: Joy Sakamoto-Wengel
2014: Frank Turney
2013: J. Allan Cohen
2013: Larry J. Feldman
2013: Susan J. Klein
2013: E. Hutchinson Robbins, Jr.
2012: Susan Mays
2012: Jason C. Ridgell
2010: Thomas R. Simpson, Jr.
2010: Elva E. Tillman
2010: Randy S. Wase
2009: Alan J. Belsky
2009: C. Christopher Brown
2009: Constance M. Hare
2009: Mary T. Keating
2009: Christopher R. Rahl
2009: Steven D. Silverman
2009: James Wiggins
2008: James W. Almand
2008: Richard M. Bader
2007: Mary Ann Ferguson
2006: Robert N. Grossbart
2006: Constance M. Hare
2006: Darren M. Margolis
2006: Erika F. Daneman Slater
2005: Alan Joseph Bloom
2005: Edwin G. Fee, Jr.
2005: Marc Robert Kivitz
2005: Frederick A. Raab
2005: William M. Rudow
2005: Mark F. Scurti
2005: Lori S. Simpson
2005: Thomas G. Slater
2004: David W. Britton, Jr.
2004: David W. Cohen
2004: Chester H. Hobbs, IV
2003: Stanley Alpert
2003: Thomas G. Bodie
2003: Neal D. Borden
2003: William C. Fanning, Jr.
2003: Laurie A. Filippi
2003: Frank P. Jenkins
2003: Leah H. Lewis
2003: Kelly Walfred Miller
2002: Andrew Bailey
2002: James Clapp
2002: Joel Fradin
2002: Robert Taylor
2002: Terri Lee Taylor
2001: Kevin Beard
2001: Deborah Dwyer
2001: Richard Gunkel
2001: Donald Hecht
2001: Richard Lynas
2000: Stanley Alpert
2000: Marc Atas
2000: Dennis Mitchell
1999: Julie Blair
1999: Benjamin Lipsitz
1998: Sally B. Gold
1998: Thomas E. Grzech

Young Lawyer of the Year
2017: William Buschur

Volunteer of the Year Award
2017: Debbie Devan
2016: Joseph K. Githuku
2015: Natalie Collins
2014: Anne E. Higdon
2013: Sherwood R. Wescott
2012: Yollette S. Atkinson
2011: Mark Scurti
2010: Karl-Henri Gauvin
2009: Melanie Murray Mfume
2008: Colin Moorhouse
2007: Linda Carroll
2006: Kathleen T. Bailey
2005: Michael A. Canet
2002: John P. Corderman
2001: Nicole Campbell and Forensic Document Examiners
2001: J. Harrison Phillips, III
2000: Barbara L. Ayers
1999: John A. Hayes, Jr.
1997: Laurie Filippi
1995: Katharine Nair
1994: Zvi Guttman
1993: Nicholas J. Delambo

Law Firm of the Year
2017: Mulinazzi Law Office
2016: Gallagher & Hansen, LLP
2015: TBMG Law
2014: Lawyer by the Bay
2013: The Law Office of Grimm & Dorrill LLC
2012: Grossbart, Portney & Rosenberg, PA
2011: The Kennedy Law Firm, Maryland Consumer Group
2010: Mehlman & Greenblatt
2009: Ober, Kaler, Grimes & Shriver
2008: DLA Piper US LLP
2003: Gordon, Feinblatt, Rothman, Hoffberger & Hollander, LLC
2002: Miles & Stockbridge, P.C.
1998: Mehlman & Greenblatt
1997: Tydings & Rosenberg
1993: Whiteford, Taylor & Preston
1992: Piper & Marbury

Partnership Award
2017: Hogan Lovells
2015: Alice Young
2016: University of Baltimore School of Law Saul Ewing Civil Advocacy Clinic
2015: David Hoskins
2014: Jose Z. Canto
2013: Jason Frank
2012: Frank E. Turney
2011: Stuart O. Simms
2009: Univ. of MD School of Law-Low Income Taxpayer Clinic
2008: Carroll Drake
2008: Washington County Bar Association
2008: The Daily Record
2007: Judges and Masters of the Circuit Courts on Lower Shore
2007: Judges and Masters of the Circuit Court for Frederick County
2005: The Daily Record
2004: University of Baltimore School of Law and University of Maryland School of Law
2003: CASH Campaign
2002: Business and Technology Division of Baltimore City Community College
2001: Barbara Trader and the Wicomico County Bar Association
2000: Michael Daigneault
1999: Consumer Credit Counseling Service
1999: Merle Turner and the Charles County Bar Association
1999: The Penneysaver
1998: Carolyn P. Mathers and the Wicomico County Bar Association
Leadership/Lifesaver Award
2009: Lawrence D. Coppel (Bankruptcy Program Support)
2001: Judges of the United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Maryland
2006: James W. Sauer

Special Project of the Year Award
2014: Baltimore Tax Sale Work Group
2009: The Debtor Assistance Project, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, District of Maryland
2004: Project HEAL and the Harriet Lane Clinic of the Johns Hopkins Children’s Clinic
2000: IRS Low-Income Taxpayer Clinic Tax Section of the Maryland State Bar Association
1998: Taxation Group of Venable, Baetjer and Howard
1997: Circuit Court for Baltimore County
1995: Tax Section, Maryland State Bar Association
1994: Cecil County Bar Association
1993: Wicomico County Bar Association
1992: Bankruptcy Bar Association

Benefactor Award
2007: John Dealy

Educator Award
2008: Caroline D. Ciraolo
2008: Gerald W. Kelly
2007: Sylvia Ontaneda-Bernales
2006: Maria E. Chavez-Ruark
2006: Brian A. Zemil

John Michener Award
1995: Joseph Dishman
1994: The Daily Record
1993: Judith De Libera
1992: Roberta Maquire

Miscellaneous Awards
2006 Pioneer Of the Year: Edward D. Groh
2007 Pro Bono Spirit Award: Matthew Mills

Winnie Borden Award
2012: M. Natalie McSherry
2009: Senator Benjamin L. Cardin
2008: Winifred Borden

Share this: